A Series Of Their Own

“This is the only comprehensive book written about the history of the Women’s College World Series. It is a must-read if you were, or still are, involved in college softball or its national championship. It is also a must-read for young softball athletes to better understand where this event got its roots.”
- Margie Wright (27 yr Fresno State University Head Coach)

- A Full Color, 296 Page Paperback Book

Available Now For Only $24.95! (free shipping)

Click Here To Buy
  • VISA credit card
  • MasterCard credit card
  • American Express credit card
  • Discover credit card

What This Book Has To Offer

The inspirational roots of college softball’s national championship and its 43 years of explosive growth are chronicled in this unique, 296-page book, A Series of Their Own: The History of the Women’s College World Series. The book includes narratives on each of the annual tournaments from 1969-2012 within the context of the changing landscape of women’s collegiate sports.

To write this story, the authors drew on their backgrounds writing about and photographing this championship event while working at the Amateur Softball Association, the national governing body for softball in the United States. Newspaper accounts, published and unpublished photos, and other sources were used in this book. Prominent players, coaches and tournament organizers also contributed to this compelling narrative.

About The Authors

“This book has been so much fun for me to remember those years. It was great to read because during most of the games, I was busy handling ticket problems or parking lot problems, or other issues. Thanks for giving me a play-by-play of the action that I missed.”

Marita Hynes - Director of 19 Women’s Series Tournaments

Photos, Team Listings and Brackets

Carefully researched and edited, A Series of Their Own blends a compelling story with much-needed factual information. Historical photos, team standings and tournament brackets illustrate this moving account of how women’s collegiate softball started and grew its national championship.

Comprehensive Reference Source

A Series of Their Own includes official team standings and player awards for the 44 national softball championships from 1969 through 2012. Appendices and an index for players and teams allow readers to quickly find information on individual and team participants from these storied tournaments. The name index contains more than 1,200 listings for players and coaches from the decades of championship play.

A Word From The Publisher

“My name is Gary Leland, I Love Fastpitch Softball and I have been involved for many years. I have attended many of the past Women's College World Series and shared tons of articles, photos, and video coverage of the event. It is such an honor to have two of my friends compile such a comprehensive book in recognition of the history of the WCWS.”

A SERIES OF THEIR OWN, The History Of The Women's College World Series
- A Full Color, 296 Page Paperback Book